30 images

Victorian Fishing Lodge | 123

map Fort William, Inverness-shire

Check availability & book calender icon

Overview

  • At a Glance
  • Facilities
  • Accommodation

    • Sleeps 16 + cot (14 adults + 2 children)
    • 7 bedrooms
    • 5 bath / shower rooms

    Your holiday home

    • £1,797 - £3,616 per week
    • Sunday changeover
    • 6:00 PM check in
    • 9:00 AM check out
    • 2 pets welcome (£15 pppw)
    • No smoking
    • Property rating: 4
    • Facilities

      • Fridge
      • Freezer
      • Dishwasher
      • Washing machine
      • Tumble dryer
      • Central heating
      • Cot
      • High chair
      • Wifi
      • Microwave
      • Garden furniture
      • DVD player
      • TV
    • Features

      • Aga
      • Fire/woodburner
      • Four poster bed

Description

If you are looking for a large holiday house in the Outdoor Capital of Scotland, then this beautiful lodge with clear views of Ben Nevis is ideal. Great lodge, great location.

A hugely popular private mansion, commonly referred to by the Scottish as a ‘Fishing Lodge’, this spacious, holiday home can very comfortably accommodate three or four families. Built in 1870 for landed gentry wishing to fish the River Lochy, over the century this old family home has welcomed guests from all walks of life, including royalty.  Edward & Mrs Simpson enjoyed some respite on this private estate far from the public eye in 1935.  

Several years ago this large holiday home undertook a fairly major renovation and restoration programme, the photos of which are on display for guests in a leather bound album on the hall table. It’s a tribute to the current family the amount of work put into these improvements, though with a property of this size and calibre, maintenance is an ongoing project. This Victorian Grand Dame was thus transformed into a bright, modern holiday home meeting the needs of the 21st Century traveller without losing the charm of its historic roots. 

The property remains to all intents and purposes a fishing lodge, insofar as groups continue to take a beat on the River Lochy in pursuit of salmon and trout.  However, its location has become just as attractive to other groups looking to enjoy a general holiday on the West Coast for walking and other activities.

Overall this property is a charming, spacious, nicely furnished holiday home. Smart where it counts, less so where it doesn't.  It has a comfortable, relaxed feel and would be perfect for three generational familities or groups of friends looking for a bit of 'space' to unwind and enjoy each others company both indoors and out.

  • Living
  • Beds & Baths
  • Grounds
  • Please note
  • The Porch
    The first impression you have walking into the main porch (which tends to be the main point of access into the house) is how well-proportioned the rooms feel.  Even the porch was clearly designed with outdoor pursuits in mind. Rows of hooks for coats and hats. Plenty of space underneath for boots and walking shoes.  A very large basket for storing logs, sensibly housed inside to keep dry.  And chairs to ease weary legs, whilst unlacing hiking gear.  

    Primary sitting room & TV room
    A big plus for this property are the number of reception rooms it has.  You’ve three main ones to choose from, all large with comfortable sofas and armchairs.  The primary reception room is more of a classic drawing room with three large sofas, an open fire, prints of hunting scenes and bay window overlooking the hills.  Additionally there’s a TV room with two deep sofas and an armchair.  This room tends to be a popular hang-out with the children in the early evenings when the grown-up’s retire to the drawing room for pre-dinner drinks.  

    Secondary sitting room
    The secondary sitting room is very pleasant with two good sofas, an open fire, a round card table, library of books and bay windows overlooking the hills.  This is accessed via the side entrance (porch) which tends to be the main route into the house most people choose.  

    Entrances
    There are several entrances into the property, the principle ones you’re likely to use as a group would be the one via the porch leading into the secondary sitting room.  The ‘front door’ leading in from the main terrace and the back door beside the kitchen.  Wet dogs tend to come in via the back door and straight into the boiler room, kitchen & pantry. The backdoor leads into a small corridor, with the kitchen, scullery & larder on the right and a small study (with TV) on the left.  

    Dining room
    The traditional dining room on the front-facing corner of the lodge is furnished traditionally in deep red with Scottish scenes adorning the walls and large antique furniture and mahogany dining table befitting a property of this style.  The bay windows provide the room with plenty of light during the day as well as access to the vast slate terrace through the French windows.  It’s a reasonable distance from the main kitchen (common in properties of this era) so plenty of crockery & glassware is stored in a galley kitchen (formerly the Butler’s Pantry) in the hall opposite the drawing room.

    Kitchen(s) & Pantry(s)
    The kitchen is well equipped and furnished very much in keeping with the rest of the property.  A beautiful old pine table seating 8 sits in the centre of the room on worn yet warm cork tile floor. The double oven electric aga (2 hobs, 2 ovens, 2 warming ovens) keeps the room beautifully warm across all seasons. 

    Storage will not be an issue with a large walk in larder with stone floor and slate shelves; a lovely relic of pre-refrigeration.  Additionally there’s a large laundry room with double Belfast sink, fridge, upright freezer plus another large chest freezer. A washing machine, ironing board and cleaning equipment is kept in this room.

    There's a second kitchen along the hall, almost immediately opposite the drawing room. This small kitchen is equipped with a sink, fridge and dishwasher and tends to be the spot most guests store and prepare drinks & cocktails.

    Other rooms
    There’s also a downstairs lavatory.  Additionally, there is a boiler room, with large sink, which makes an ideal drying room. 

  • Bedrooms

    • 4 Twin Bedroom/s With Shared Bathroom
    • 1 Four Poster Double Bedroom/s Ensuite
    • 2 Double Room/s With Ensuite Bathroom

    The bedrooms are all located on the first floor, accessed via two staircases, front and back.  The majority of bedrooms run off one long, wide corridor with the 4 master bedrooms running the front of the house - all facing lovely views of the river Lochy and hills beyond. All bedrooms are spacious, but the master bedroom with the four poster bed is particularly comfortable along with a decent sized ensuite bathroom.  Two of the twin bedrooms at the back of the house share a small bathroom. These bedrooms are closest to the back staircase and kitchen below. 

    Accommodation is provided for a group of 14 adults (+ 2 children) in 7 bedrooms with 5 bathrooms, as follows:

    First floor (sleeps 14)
    Bed 1, Twin room
    Bed 2, King size double with en-suite bathroom, with bath with shower over, w.c and wash hand basin
    Bed 3, Twin room, bathroom, with bath with shower attachment, w.c and wash hand basin
    Bed 4, King size double with en-suite bathroom, with bath with shower over, w.c and wash hand basin
    Bed 5, Four poster double bed with en-suite bathroom, with bath, shower cabinet, w.c, bidet and wash hand basin
    Bed 6, Twin room; bathroom, with bath only, w.c and wash hand basin
    Bed 7, Twin room

    Temporary Beds (sleeps 2 children)
    There are 2 folding beds available for the + 2 children.  If you think you're going to need them please request the extra beds as they're kept in storage and will need to be brought out in advance, set up and made.   These are fold out beds and only suitable for children aged 12 and under. Adults are not permitted to sleep on them. We ask you respect this request as it does matter that they are used appropriately.  



  • The Terrace/Gardens
    The slate terrace has withstood the test of time and suffers a little from neglect (albeit romantically).  The less nimble or partially sighted would need to be particularly careful of its uneven surface. Guests can access the terrace through the French doors leading off the dining room and drawing room as well as the front door.

    It's enclosed by a low stone wall high enough to keep small to medium dogs contained (as long as they’re not partial to jumping).  A wooden bench, table and chairs provide seating for a few (not all guests) on sunny days.  It’s a very picturesque spot and quiet.  There's no garden as such although plenty of grassy areas surrounding the house in the form of open land and paddocks to stretch the legs or for games of hide and seek.

    You might see the occasional tall ship pass on the canal that runs parallel to the river, which always creates a bit of excitement.  For those interested in marine history, 'Neptune's Staircase' at Banavie near Fort William is worth visiting.  On sunny days you can walk up the canal (young and old alike) tracing its steps up to the top lock followed by a drink or snack in the nearby café.  

    The River Lochy
    You can walk to the river from the front terrace, down some steps and through a mixture of wild bracken, fern and overgrown vegetation.  Dogs are asked to be kept on a lead or at least under control in case you come across livestock. The river is fast flowing and quite dangerous in areas, so absolutely not suitable for swimming. It's a lovely walk though right along the shoreline which in some places has formed rocky beaches.  You'll pass one or two small wooden huts (bothys) along the way and are asked to be mindful of the fishermen who may be down on the banks, hoping to catch some salmon or trout. If you'd like to try a spot of fly fishing yourself let us know and we'll put you in touch with the relevant people. You can walk a decent circuit from the house, along the river bank, up through the paddock onto the open moorland running either side of the single lane track back to the house. 

    Dogs
    If you're bringing your pet on holiday, you are asked very politely in the Visitor Information Manual to keep your dogs on leads when walking down to the river or around the house in the fields and open moorland.  There are often livestock grazing nearby who can be harmed if chased by excited four-legged holiday-makers.  Of course if your pooch is perfectly trained to heel the lead might just be needed for decoration!

    Getting there
    Located 6 miles from Fort William, it's an easy drive to and from town. Your nearest supermarket and other major shops would also be Fort William which is likely to cater for most of your needs.

  • GROUP TYPES
    Stag and Hen bookings may not book this property, unless discussed in advance for approval. Neither the Owner nor the Agent will accept any liability should a booking be confirmed as a consequence of non-disclosure of the above which may later result in a booking cancellation by the Owner. For more information on this matter please speak to a member of our staff.

    PRIVATE WATER SUPPLY
    There is a private water supply at this property, which is checked and approved on an annual basis by the local authority.

lock-iconYour booking is always safe and secure

Map

Area
Inverness-shire
Nearest shop
6 miles
Nearest supermarket
6 miles
Nearest pub
6 miles
Train Stations
Nearest Train Station
Banavie 3 miles
Corpach 4 miles
Fort William 5 miles

Photos

Set in a rural setting overlooking the river Lochy
Welcome to this holiday house near Fort William
A warm welcome awaits in the drawing room
Relax and have your coffee in front of the fire
The secondary sitting room is another good size room
A TV room offers a space for children to relax in
The dining room has seating for 14 people
The country style kitchen is well equipped
The additional galley kitchen is available if required
Dogs are allowed in one designated room only
All the accommodation is on the floor above
Room 5 has front facing views and an en-suite bathroom
Room 5, with another angle of the four poster bed
En-suite bathroom to Room 5
Room 2 looks over the front of the house
Another angle of Room 2
Room 3 is a twin room
Shared family bathroom
Room 4 is another front facing double bedroom
Room 7 is another twin bedroom
Another shared family bathroom
Room 6 is a twin room
Room 1 is another twin room
You can walk to the river from the house
The fishing lodge is a great destination all year round
Watch out for the Highland cows on the drive in
The Commando memorial is very near to the lodge
Take a trip over to Ardgour by ferry
Ben Nevis in a wintry scene
Go for a drive and visit Glencoe

Guestbook

03 September 2020
Rated 5 out of 5

Fell in love with the lodge as soon as we walked in the door so quiet and peaceful lots of room and well stocked with cutlery and crockery

Excellent from start to finish good communication especially in the times we are in

21 June 2019
Rated 5 out of 5

Great location so near Fort William. Easy to find. Such a fantastic location and comfortable house. Enjoyed every minute spent there!

Really glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves, being in such a secluded spot yet so close to Fort William makes it very conveniently located for day trips. We look forward to welcoming you back one day.

Very helpful and lovely staff at Scott's Castle Holidays from start to finish. Helpful with things to do in the area and other locally related things. Quick to reply. Remembered us just before the trip too and sent us some information just before our holiday.
The house we stayed in was really fabulous too. Would love to go again!

Really pleased to hear the whole trip went well for you. You'll have to arrange a return anniversary holiday now and make it a family tradition!

25 March 2019
Rated 5 out of 5

Lovely old property with plenty of room.

So pleased you continue to enjoy the lodge, we look forward to welcoming you back next year!

Usual good friendly helpful service.

Thanks so much, look forward to helping next time!

30 July 2018
Rated 5 out of 5

Large, comfortable estate home. Very comfortable beds. A little worn, but to be expected for a house this age. The patio stone could use a little TLC as it is covered in moss and plant material. Lots of charm and perfect for our family of 8.

We love this comfortable house , thanks for your comments, I'll pass them onto the owner for his attention. Sounds like you had a great time.

Ease of booking. Good website.

Thanks so much, hope we can help in the future

31 March 2018
Rated 5 out of 5

Really good - a lovely property.

We're glad you think it's lovely. We think so too!

Very helpful as always

It's always a pleasure

19 March 2017
Rated 5 out of 5

The lodge is a great place to stay. We love it.

Glad you all enjoyed your second stay, rating the lodge five stars! We hope to help with a third visit :)

Very helpful.

Thank you for your review! It was a pleasure to assist with your return trip to this lovely highland lodge and we hope we may be able to help again sometime.

21 April 2016
Rated 5 out of 5

Fabulous house in an idyllic location.

Totally agree it's a fabulous house, glad you had an excellent time. Please don't hesitate to get in touch again in the future if you ever wish to return.

Excellent service.

Thanks for taking the time to leave feedback, that's great to hear!

05 December 2015
Rated 5 out of 5

Fabulous place. It was a horrible wet weekend when we visited but the house was lovely and cosy. We had a log fire every night. The bedrooms were very comfortable. We will certainly be back.

Glad to hear you had a fabulous stay. Sounds so cosy sitting around the log fires each night after a busy day! We look forward to hearing from you when you would like to re book, don't forget to claim your SCH loyalty discount next time!

Very efficient

Great to hear! Many thanks for taking the time to review our service, its much appreciated!

03 January 2014
Rated 5 out of 5

We had a truly excellent stay. Everything worked well, heating, open fires and cooking (once we got used to the AGA). And what a truly delightful place. We took the mouse droppings in our stride - although our daughter-in-law was a bit put off by the mouse nest under her bed!

Great to hear you had an excellent stay as this lodge is such a firm favourite with everyone. With regard to the mice this was an unfortunate oversight, and after a period of inaction at the lodge, nature has a habit of taking over and the housekeeper failed to spot this, which we are sorry about. I know you have emailed us to remove the mice comment – but actually it shows that these reviews are real and genuine. The electric AGA does take some getting used to – and I hope the instructions were helpful. Please do not hesitate to get back in touch if we can help with any future holiday plans and we will be delighted to help, we also offer a loyalty discount to returning guests!

Antony Sherlock
Property Manager

Staff could not have been more helpful.

Great to hear you had an excellent stay as this lodge is such a firm favourite with everyone. With regard to the mice this was an unfortunate oversight, and after a period of inaction at the lodge, nature has a habit of taking over and the housekeeper failed to spot this, which we are sorry about. I know you have emailed us to remove the mice comment – but actually it shows that these reviews are real and genuine. The electric AGA does take some getting used to – and I hope the instructions were helpful. Please do not hesitate to get back in touch if we can help with any future holiday plans and we will be delighted to help, we also offer a loyalty discount to returning guests!

Antony Sherlock
Property Manager

08 May 2013
Rated 4 out of 5

The lodge was fine, the thermostat downstairs was switched off so it was cold when we arrived. The starter pack of logs was very small, otherwise a very nice property and we had a great time.

Many thanks for your comments following your stay, all feedback is much appreciated. I am sorry there was a bit of initial confusion, but I am glad to hear everything was sorted out and you had a great time.

Don’t forget by booking again through Scotts Castle Holidays you will be eligible for our loyalty discount so please remind us when you come to book and we will be happy to apply this to your booking!

Scotts Castle Holidays
Email: [email protected]

There was an issue as we had requested two additional beds which the housekeeper and owner did not know about, so we had to call out the housekeeper when we arrived to get the extra beds linen etc.

Many thanks for your comments following your stay, all feedback is much appreciated. I am sorry there was a bit of initial confusion, but I am glad to hear everything was sorted out and you had a great time.

Don’t forget by booking again through Scotts Castle Holidays you will be eligible for our loyalty discount so please remind us when you come to book and we will be happy to apply this to your booking!

Scotts Castle Holidays
Email: [email protected]

04 March 2013
Rated 5 out of 5

The lodge was a fabulous place for a group of our size (ten). This was an annual week in the hills and we have stayed in a huge variety of properties over the last 35 years. This was easily one of the best. The place has had a recent makeover which has retained the charm but ensured it is properly heated and things work. The setting is really stunning and with the week of weather we had, we never tired of the views of the Ben. Lot's of space and character, everything you might expect (wifi, etc) in a great location. We had one minor problem with the lights which was sorted in a timely and friendly fashion. What's not to like.

Thank you for your positive feedback further to your holiday at Camisky Lodge, we are delighted to hear that you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed the property!

Also great to hear that you found our booking process easy and helpful, we hope we can be of assistance with future holidays and don't forget to claim your Scotts Castle Holidays loyalty discount should you choose to book with us again (T&C's apply)

Scotts Castle Holidays
Email: [email protected]

Found the company easy to deal with, personable and responsive. All paperwork, systems were easy to deal with. Found having to give names of each member of group a bit onerous.

Thank you for your positive feedback further to your holiday at Camisky Lodge, we are delighted to hear that you had a lovely holiday and enjoyed the property!

Also great to hear that you found our booking process easy and helpful, we hope we can be of assistance with future holidays and don't forget to claim your Scotts Castle Holidays loyalty discount should you choose to book with us again (T&C's apply)

Scotts Castle Holidays
Email: [email protected]

People also viewed …

Alness, Ross and Cromarty
Ref: 036
Sleeps 10 | 6 bedrooms
Sat 7 Nov 2020
for 7 nights Was £1,069
Newtonmore, Inverness-shire
Ref: 099
Sleeps 9 | 5 bedrooms
Sat 7 Nov 2020
for 7 nights
Blair Atholl, Perthshire
Ref: 183
Sleeps 12 | 6 bedrooms
Mon 9 Nov 2020
for 7 nights
Kingussie, Inverness-shire
Ref: 212
Sleeps 14 | 7 bedrooms
Sun 29 Nov 2020
for 7 nights
Fort William, Inverness-shire
Ref: 042
Sleeps 8 | 4 bedrooms
Sat 7 Nov 2020
for 7 nights
Maybole, South Ayrshire
Ref: 401
Sleeps 30 | 15 bedrooms
Sat 7 Nov 2020
for 7 nights
Top